US Water Prize 2021

Awarded on an annual basis, the US Water Prize celebrates outstanding achievement in the advancement of sustainable, integrated, and inclusive solutions to our nation's water challenges. It is the preeminent national recognition program for exemplary efforts to secure a One Water future for all. 

Winners of US Water Prize 2021 will be announced and recognized during the annual awards ceremony, which will be held virtually. Winners will be chosen by an independent review panel of water experts. The nomination period for US Water Prize 2021 is now closed.
Any questions can be directed to

Organizational Awards

These awards are dedicated to celebrating organizations leading the way with creative One Water solutions and driving a paradigm shift in how we view, value, and manage water in America. The US Water Prize award four organizational award in the following categories: Cross-Sector Partnership, Nonprofit, Private Sector, and Public Sector. Those eligible for nomination include water utilities, businesses, agricultural organizations, environmental organizations, community-based organizations, research institutions, and others.

Individual Awards

Journalism Award

This award was created to recognize the positive impact the media can have on building public understanding of the complicated and pressing water issues we face in America today. The US Water Prize for Outstanding Journalism on the Value of Water honors a member, or members, of the media who have demonstrated exemplary reporting on a water-related issue.

Rising One Water Leader Award

This award was created to recognize the talented rising water leaders at Alliance member organizations who are shaping One Water management. The US Water Prize for Outstanding Rising One Water Leader will honor a water professional who has demonstrated one or more of the six essential capacities for One Water Change leadership: vision-setting, shaping culture, possibility thinking, innovation, trust-building and collaboration, and adaptive learning. Mid-career professionals employed at Alliance member organizations who pursue One Water approaches to their work are eligible for nomination.

Artist Award

The US Water Prize for Outstanding One Water Artist will honor an artist or culture bearer that has used artistic interventions or creative practices to center water issues, management, infrastructure, or communicate the value of water in their work. Artists or culture-bearers that align their work with social and public need in a way that advances an equitable and sustainable water future are eligible for nomination. Teams of artists are also eligible to be nominated. Organizations are not eligible for nomination, but individual teams belonging to the same organization working on a specific, relevant work can be nominated. The winner of the Water Prize for Outstanding Artist will also be awarded $5,000 in cash to support continuing their work, and a sponsorship to attend the US One Water Summit in 2022.

Public Official Award

The US Water Prize for Outstanding Public Official honors an individual who has championed water policy in their public agenda, inspiring leadership and action to overcome water sector challenges. Individuals eligible to be nominated include elected officials at every level of government, including mayors, city managers, city councilmembers, governors, state legislators, representatives of tribal governments, members of Congress, and more.


Water Prize 2021 is sponsored by the Alliance Leaders Circle