US Water Prize 2022


Awarded on an annual basis, the US Water Prize celebrates outstanding achievements in the advancement of sustainable, integrated, and inclusive solutions to our nation's water challenges. It is the preeminent national recognition program for exemplary efforts to secure a One Water future for all.

Nominations are now closed. Winners of US Water Prize 2022 will be announced and recognized at the annual awards ceremony, held during our One Water Summit 2022 from September 13 – 15 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Any questions can be directed to

Organizational Awards

These awards are dedicated to celebrating organizations leading the way with creative One Water solutions and driving a paradigm shift in how we view, value, and manage water in the United States. Those eligible for nomination include water utilities, businesses, agricultural organizations, environmental organizations, community-based organizations, research institutions, and others. 
Public Sector Award
Private Sector Award
Nonprofit Award
Cross-Sector Partnership or Coalition Award


Individual Awards 

One Water Communication Award 
Individuals eligible to be nominated include journalists and producers from mainstream media outlets and publications, authors, podcast hosts, and other communicators who focus on water issues. The Alliance will consider work from previous years if it influenced water issues such as legislation, or if it communicated important water topics to a broad audience. Past winners have raised awareness about under-reported water access challenges, climate change, and water affordability. 
Rising One Water Leader Award  
This award was created to recognize the talented rising water leaders at Alliance member organizations who are shaping One Water management. The US Water Prize for Outstanding Rising One Water Leader will honor a water professional who has demonstrated one or more of the six essential capacities for One Water Change leadership: vision-setting, shaping culture, possibility thinking, innovation, trust-building and collaboration, and adaptive learning. Mid-career professionals employed at Alliance member organizations who pursue One Water approaches to their work are eligible for nomination. 
Artist Award 
The US Water Prize for Outstanding Artist will honor an artist or culture bearer that has used artistic interventions or creative practices to center water issues, management, infrastructure, or communicate the value of water in their work. Artists or culture-bearers that align their work with social and public needs in a way that advances an equitable and sustainable water future are eligible for nomination. Teams of artists are also eligible to be nominated. Organizations are not eligible for nomination, but individual teams belonging to the same organization working on specific, relevant work can be nominated. The winner of the Water Prize for Outstanding Artist will also be awarded $5,000 to support continuing their work. 
Public Official Award 
The US Water Prize for Outstanding Public Official honors an individual who has championed water policy in their public agenda, inspiring leadership and action to overcome water sector challenges. Individuals eligible to be nominated include public officials at every level of government, including mayors, city managers, city councilmembers, governors, state legislators, representatives of tribal governments, members of Congress, and more.  

Thank you to the US Water Prize 2022 sponsors!